top of page
  • Peter Critchley

Eurovision Top Twenty Five


Eurovision Song Contest Top Twenty Five

Guide to Eurovision


At risk of losing the few friends of good taste and reasonable intelligence I have left, I do have to admit to having a soft spot for the Eurovision Song Contest. I know. But I think I can definitely show that the entire sixty year plus history of the event have produced at least half a dozen sublime moments, making the whole thing worthwhile. I think. Possibly. We shall see,


If you are inclined to consider my estimation of the worth of Eurovision eccentric, then someone called Paul Jordan got a PhD out of it.


‘It’s through Eurovision that I became interested in Estonia and Eastern Europe in general. I studied several history modules on the region as part of my degree and I think Eurovision definitely helped to develop this interest. I wrote my undergraduate dissertation on Eurovision and then applied for a PhD scholarship.’


Me? I just got skewed taste buds and blurred vision. I wonder how many people who love belting out Volare know that the song came out of Eurovision. Or that its singer Domenico Modugno wrote Io, which became the wonderful Elvis Presley ballad Ask Me in 1964, Elvis’ response to The Beatle invasion (it stalled outside the US top ten).


There’s been some great songs that have come out of the contest over the years. Then again, Italy have twice pulled out of the contest, claiming, for some mystifying reason, that it is rubbish. I love the French singers too. But in 1982, a French minister of culture called it a “monument to drivel,” if you please. I’m not having that. That’s way too harsh. Amongst the hundreds of songs submitted over the sixty years plus of its history, I maintain that there’s at least a dozen of merit. OK, maybe half a dozen. Which may not sound a great return for all the time and effort.


So, enter at your own risk. Warnings, cautions, and disclaimers issued, here are my favourite Eurovision songs. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.


It’s probably best to start with the best first …


1.

I rest my case here. I don’t need to add anything more. This is a most awesome song and performance, period. An emotional charge that goes through you like electricity. Watching this, I felt kind of vindicated. I think this three minutes makes up for the acres of … well, ‘drivel’ is too harsh, so what about the eccentric, unusual and exotic?


‘Until I'm nothing, But a shadow that follows you . And If I had to do it ..’


I’m going to watch this one again, just to confirm that I am right.

I am. They should have ended the show there and then.


2.

Vicky Leandros, Apres Toi, Luxembourg, 1972


A Greek singer singing in French for Luxembourg. That makes sense of what Terry Wogan called ‘the beautiful madness’ of Eurovision. Better together than apart, I say.


Another interesting lyric, another reference to shadows.

"After you I will be nothing but the shadow of your shadow".


3.


This great song soon faded from memory, but I think it had been the favourite. It was beaten by some here-today-gone-tomorrow outfit from Sweden whose name I can’t remember.


The Italian national broadcaster RAI censored the song since the contest coincided with the campaigning for the 1974 Italian referendum on divorce and the repeated name of the song, “Si”, “Yes”, could have been taken as a subliminal message getting the Italian voting public to vote "YES" in the referendum. The song remained censored and as a result failed to enter the Italian Top 40 chart in Italy. And it failed to have much impact all over Europe. Oddly, as "Go (Before You Break My Heart)", it made the UK top ten. I remember it standing out in its stillness and elegance in a year of flash and noise and glam (not that I objected to flash, noise, and glam). Very few Eurovision songs, outside of the winners, ever had success in the UK. But this tasteful, restrained and understated little masterpiece did! I’ve never forgotten it, my own little piece of Eurovision. But it deserves a wider airing, so I’ll share it with the rest of the world.


4.

OK, I’ll admit to having a soft spot for the French language singers. Anne-Marie David is another French singer singing for Luxembourg. Luxembourg have won the contest five times, a record that is second only to Ireland, with its seven wins. Four of those wins came with singers from France, with another victory down to Vicky Leandros, who is from Greece. Other contestants are Michele Torr (France), Nana Mouskouri (Greece), Baccara (Spain), Plastic Bertrand (Belgium)… Is there actually anyone who is from Luxembourg?


Anyway.

“For me, this is the absolute best winner from the golden age of the contest. Anne-Marie sang so magically (and still does), and the song was romantic and jazzy and timeless, all at the same time. A deserved winner, and a deserved Eurovision anthem.” (Sopon).


I have no idea who or what ‘Sopon’ is, but I agree, and so shall make the appeal to authority.


Fire in the eyes, passion in the expression, rage and pain pouring from the mouth, and an indomitable spirit in all – this was a contender for number one. Let’s face it, this had to be good to defeat the immense Cliff Richard.


This contest in Luxembourg in 1973 took place against the backdrop of terrorist threats. Terry Wogan remembers special forces, dogs, and machine guns everywhere, and the floor manager telling the audience: ‘Please do not stand up to applaud or you may be shot by security forces.’


5.

Try this one if you want something a bit different, exotic, and jazzy. This was the first winner from Scandinavia. Jørgen Ingmann was a very fine guitarist.


6.

This song won the 1969 contest in a four-way tie. The other three songs ranged from the average - Lenny Kuhr representing the Netherlands with "De troubadour" – to the truly appalling, Lulu with the truly execrable ‘Boom Bang-a-Bang’ and the even worse (if such a thing could be possible) Salomé singing ‘Vivo cantando.’ ‘Un Jour, Un Enfant’ is in a different league entirely, a quality song and a beautiful ballad.


7.

Come on, admit it, you’re all convinced now. Or have given in. Have a look at the artists who recorded this: Dean Martin, Al Martino, Jerry Vale, David Bowie, Cliff Richard, Frank Sinatra, Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald, Luciano Pavarotti, Andrea Bocelli, Dalida, Gipsy Kings, Chico & the Gypsies, Bobby Rydell, and Barry White. Barry White!! Let the music play on!


8.

The Shadows, Let me be the one, United Kingdom 1975

Shadows again, this time not just the lyrics but a whole band. I fully expected this one to win, and sat there in front of the screen, with my bottle of pop and a bag of crisps, and saw a song about a “Ding, Dang, Dong” emerge victorious. Later that year, I saw Leeds United robbed by the referee in the European Cup Final against Bayern Munich. And I developed a deep sense of injustice as a result. It turns out that I was right about the referee. Not sure there was any vote rigging in Eurovision, but this very Beatlesque song remains a favourite. But “Ding, Dang, Dong” by Teach-In wasn’t a bad song for all that. And sound advice. Such things come in handy.

9.

I like this ballad very much. I love how seriously they all used to take it. They put a lot into the performances, doing their very best to create something special for the audience. There’s no irony and cynicism, no knowing wink that one and all are all are just fleecing each other with idle entertainment of no musical importance. There’s no short-changing. I think that entered Eurovision with Gainsbourg’s entry in 1965.


10.

At last, a French singer who wins for France! Now this won the year I started to study French for the first time. I was mystified why my French teacher on Monday morning never showed the remotest interest in the fact that France had won Eurovision at the weekend, baffled. Judging by the expression on her face, I don’t think she even knew what I was talking about. Or maybe she just thought it was all rubbish. Knock it all you like, I moved easily into the rich and raw world of Brassens, Brel, Gréco etc. through my initiation.


As for the song …

“Dark is the misery,

the men and the war

who believe that they hold the time’s reins

The country of love has no borders

For those with child’s heart


Like a child with light in their eyes

That sees distant birds passing by

Like the blue bird flying over the earth

We will find this world of love.”


That’ll do me fine.


11.

Utterly infectious. It’s even got puppets! Joy of joys. This is why Eurovision was created, and why it continues to this day.


12.

This song ended Ireland’s run of three victories, the only time the hat-trick has been done in Eurovision history. Ireland came back and won the year after. But listen to this tune, the violin. It’s Irish! This has to be Irish!


Talking of which, for all of Ireland’s victories, it’s best ever entry didn’t win.


13.

Begorrah! It’s Barry’s da!

This is none other than Pat McGuigan, father of the Clones Cyclone, the very great and immensely popular world boxing champion Barry McGuigan. I loved watching Pat McGuigan sing Danny Boy before the big title fights, and then, whilst everyone was still drying their eyes, the bell would go and Barry would rush out from his corner and clobber his opponent. It never failed.


What a voice though! And whatever happened to the crooners? Look what they did to poor Englebert a few years ago. I thought that was outrageous.

14.

"We all have a bench, a tree, a street/Where we cherished our dreams/A childhood that has been too short".

Loss of innocence and life a series of little deaths, I suppose. Oh, and follow your dreams. It’s profound stuff. Then again, I used to love the Dear Drooper spot on the Banana Splits. I used to rely on it for personal advice. My life was never the same after it ended.


15.

This is from 1968. I like the songs from this time and just after. It must be my era. This came third, but is miles better than the winner (Spain, with ‘La, La, La’) and the runner-up (Cliff with Congrats). I like this version

16.

This interest, frankly obsession, with Eurovision, is all Mary Hopkin’s fault really. I remember her from when I was a tiny tot, and thought she had a really beautiful voice, like a bird. I still struggle to understand how this gem lost out to Dana’s All Kinds of Awfulness. Not that I hold a grudge. For too long. But if you can, check out Mary Hopkin’s album Earth Song, Ocean Song, which is as fine a slice of folk pop as I’ve ever heard. This was more her style.


17.

A long forgotten gem from the UK. I don’t think it’s been heard since 1989. Which is a shame. I remember it being sung on the building sites I was working on, bits of it, anyway. Then it lost and disappeared without trace. And now I’m bringing it back. Norway, Portugal, Luxembourg, France and Germany all gave the maximum 12 points to this, and good on them for that! Nations of good taste.


Gotta rush through these now, it’s been a long day and it’s time for bed.


18.

No. Never did the dance. Not often, anyway. This is the UK’s revenge for The Shadows having been robbed the previous year. It received maximum 12 points from seven countries. I think I am right in saying it is the most successful Eurovision song ever. The last time I heard, the band are still going strong, as good as ever ….


19.

It’s 1968! I could have chosen Cliff Richard singing Congratulations for the UK, which came second to a song entitled ‘La, La, La.’ But this is fantastic. Remarkably, it came last, with one miserable point.


20.

Very tasteful.


21.

Charming.


22.

Johnny won the competition twice. I remember my Irish school friend being very proud of him, singing What’s Another Year in my ear all the way home from school. Put me right off that one. But this is a cracker.


23.

The Allisons Are You Sure,UK, 1961 Eurovision

Kind of Adam Faithish, a bit Everlys, not sure.


24.

Zeljko Joksimovic, Lane Moje, Serbia and Montenegro, 2004

A Balkan ballad and an award winning song, and no wonder. Combining ethno elements and traditional Serbian sounds in a contemporary style. Stick with it, the competition still has its moments.


25.

Just to prove I’m still with it, at least as much as I ever was.

Rändajad means nomads or travellers. Urban Symphony lead singer Sandra Nurmsalu points out that "we all are travellers". And so we are, on life’s journey. This combines violin, viola, cello and electronica within an exotic oriental sound. As you can hear.


Another French singer singing for Luxembourg.

Mocedades, Eres Tu, Spain, 1973

Many rate this the greatest ever Eurovision entry. I’m really not sure. I keep listening. I have to admit, I much prefer the immortal Jahn Teigen giving a remarkably restrained performance of the delicate ballad "Mil etter mil."


I have no words, only boundless admiration for a middle-aged man in red pants and braces going for broke. It came bottom with nul points. The judges just didn’t get it. He always reminded me of Burt out of Soap, for those who remember that show.


OK, I’ll admit it, I’m a fanatic. A hopeless case really. Ashamed of myself? Hell no!


And if you have made it this far, you just so deserve this last, and very probably least, entry, Ming the Merciless singing about Genghis Khan for Germany in Israel. No, I have no idea either.


Always knew that Ming the Merciless was just an old song and dance man. I wish I had this amount of energy. I wish I had those clothes! I swear I can do this dance. There must be something truly liberating about being able to embarrass yourself disgracefully in public like this. I’m off to seek help.


Incredibly, I made it to the end without mentioning that my favourite Françoise Hardy sang for Monaco in 1963


1.


Someone in the comments to the video writes: “I have listened to all 1438 Eurovision songs and this is the best song in Eurovision history.” And who am I to disagree? I had to rule the ethereal Francoise out for reasons of personal bias. I wanted a purely objective list.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page