top of page
  • Peter Critchley

Liverpool Hot 100 - 100 songs from Liverpool

This is my list of my favourite 100 songs from Liverpool, one artist, one song.


"Liverpool is more than a place where music happens. Liverpool is a reason why music happens."

Paul de Noyer, "Liverpool: Wondrous Place: Music from the Cavern to the Coral" (2002).


1

The Beatles - Strawberry Fields Forever

‘Living is easy with eyes closed, Misunderstanding all you see.’

I have to say, “Nowhere Man” may be my favourite Beatles song. Apart from “Octopuses Garden,” that is.


2

The La's “Freedom Song”


I could have picked “There she goes,” which everyone knows.


3

Echo and the Bunnymen - The Killing Moon

‘Fate, Up against your will.’

Best line in a pop song ever. (Mac the Mouth says so).

I'd have lots more from the Bunnymen. “The Cutter,” “Bring on the Dancing Horses,” “Nothing Lasts Forever.” Etc


4

Wah ! - The Story Of The Blues

‘So you try to stop, try to get back up.’

Story of the early eighties. I still have my battered old single from 1982. I saw Pete Wylie at the Citadel, St Helens. He's a funny guy! I loved “Come Back,” a song he put out when I was in Sheffield, and people were leaving Liverpool in droves in search of work. Liverpool came back, with its indomitable spirit.


5

The Searchers - When you walk in the room

‘I see a summer's night with a magic moon.’

Love this. In an occasional tetchy moment, I will annoy Beatles fans by claiming The Searchers were the more influential band, that twelve string guitar sound influencing the West Coast sound of the US.


6

The Real Thing - You To Me Are Everything

‘The sweetest song that I could sing.’

This is brill. I like a bit of dance and disco.


7

Cilla Black - You're My World

‘I feel a power so divine.’

I sang to Cilla Black once. I don't think she was impressed. I wasn't on the TV clip she used on “Surprise Surprise” anyway, although it was hard to see. (I was never keen on Cilla Black, I must admit, she has a very ambiguous relation to the Liverpool scene of the early sixties. I did like "La La La Lu," though, which are words I live by).


8

John Lennon - Oh My Love

‘Everything is clear in our world.’

Could have been any number of songs: “Watching the Wheels,” could be “Working Class Hero” (will never be “Imagine,” the My Little Pony of philosophical statements, never could stand it). On song, Lennon was top drawer. I also love the “Elvis Orbison” of “Starting Over.”


9

Gerry and the Pacemakers - Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying

‘But stop your cryin' when the birds sing.’

I've never thought that such things could be commanded. But it's a nice sentiment.


10

Billy Fury Maybe Tomorrow

‘Maybe tomorrow, There'll be no sorrow.’

I don't think he believes it.

Billy Fury is my favourite singer from Liverpool. This one reminds me of Francoise Hardy (she was a young fan). Only more aching and sorrowful. Liverpool, the city of hopeless hope. Billy worked on the ships early on. “Halfway to Paradise.”


11

The Swinging Blue Jeans - You're No Good

‘I've learned my lesson, it left a scar.’


12

The Big Three - What'd I Say (live at The Cavern) – 1963


13

Ian McNabb - Great Dreams Of Heaven

‘Countries die, when rockets fly, and cities have been levelled, And we got great dreams of Heaven.’

I've had the odd heated exchange with Ian over football. He thinks it's a distraction. He's a feisty and opinionated person. So am I. I like him. I loved the Icicle Works, they should have been huge.


14

Frankie Goes To Hollywood – The Power of Love

‘This time we go sublime, Lovers entwine-divine divine.’

I'm not sure why I picked this. Christmas song? I think I picked it because it shows that even the most transgressive of rascals have a soft side and will wimp out in the best way in the end.

If pushed, though, I'd go for “Welcome to the Pleasure Dome.” I love a throbbing bass line.


15

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Electricity

‘All we need is to learn to save.’

People and nations that save and invest thrive, those that don't, don't. (Economic history in one line).

I could have picked lots from OMD. I once nearly got thrown out of the De la Salle/West Park sixth form library for whistling “Souvenir” endlessly. How more rock'n'roll can a person be? That librarian had no sense of rhythm. I think I had been getting on her nerves for a while. I'll also go for “Walking on the Milky Way”, I love a huge slice of nostalgia.


16

The Chants - Heaven And Paradise

The Chants (1962-1975) were a vocal group of the 1960s from Liverpool, United Kingdom. Members were Eddie Amoo (vocals), Eddie Ankrah (vocals), Joe Ankrah (vocals), Alan Fielding (vocals) and Nat Smedo (vocals). Don't get them mixed up with the band of the same name from the US.


17

Shack – Daniella

Anything written and sung by Michael Head, the greatest most unappreciated singer-songwriting genius-troubadour produced by Liverpool.


18

Lita Roza - Allentown Jail

‘I'll sing you a song, la-da-da-da.’


19

The Christians – When the Fingers Point

‘So you find a new home and a new place to hide, Where's there's peace and shelter from the poison outside.’

'Where is the home you will build for me? Where shall my resting place be?'

Love this band! I can honestly say that I saw them and heard them before they hit the charts. They were on the It's Immaterial song “Ed's Funky Diner.” I told everyone I knew (all three of them) that these guys were going to be huge.


20

The Troubadours - Gimme Love


21

The Mojos- Everything's Alright

Sixties. R&B. A bit of a racket. Not a patch on The Animals. But The Animals were not from Liverpool so I can't have them.


22

Deaf School - Hi Jo Hi

‘Ain’t you see it in the news, It’s good to be back with all of you’se.’

Arty.


23

A Flock Of Seagulls - Wishing (If I Had a Photograph of You)

‘I wouldn't spend my life just wishing.’

I saw Al Stewart at the Coach House, Capistrano, California, 2018. Before the show started we walked round to take a look at some of the photos on the wall of artists who had performed there over the years. I saw John Lee Hooker and other such worthies. And then the Flock of Seagulls! I was pointing and shouting all open mouthed to no one in particular. And no-one had the first idea why I was so excited. They're from Liverpool! I liked their hair styles.


24

Liverpool Express You are my love

‘And then my heart began to sing.’

“Every Man Must Have a Dream”, “Dreamin.” This is my kind of thing. Great band.


25

The Lightning Seeds - Life of Riley

‘So, here's your life, We'll find our way, We're sailing blind, But it's certain, nothing's certain.’


26

The 23rd Turnoff - Michael Angelo (1967)

‘Stay in your book, dreamers.’

Choice.


27

Michael Head – Something Like You

Love the video here

‘So come on get in.’


28

Shack - Not Afraid Of Loving You


I'm going to cheat (again) here. I've already picked Shack, but this song is written and sung by John Head, Michael's brother. Lennon, McCartney, whoever, songs don't get any more beautiful than this.


29

George Harrison - Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)

‘Give me hope, Help me cope, with this heavy load.

Trying to, touch and reach you with, Heart and soul.

I have to say, my favourite George Harrison song is “Love Comes to Everyone.” And “All Those Years Ago.” But you can't beat this one.


30

Jimmy Campbell - Don`t Leave Me Now (1970)


31

The Spinners - Liverpool Barrow Boys

As good as anything.


32

Speed with Monica Queen - Good Luck Charm

‘The things that look so good, don’t always go to plan.’

Described thus: Slightly Brit-poppy in nature, this is a truly great Americana song from a Liverpudlian band with a Glaswegian guest singer (she's also the guest singer on Belle & Sebastian's Lazy Line Painter Jane). One of the best songs that no one but me has ever heard. Available on Speed's 1999 album, Sonic Solutions


33

The Lotus Eaters - The First Picture Of You (1983)

‘flood the world deep in sunlight, break into the peaceful wild.’

Peter Coyle went on to produce some incredible music, but this, with the incredible Jem Kelly on guitar, is the song I left school to. It's a bittersweet beauty. I remember those days well. Oddly, this is the kind of song that has you remembering days you were yet to have from the first. If that makes any kind of sense.


34

Cast – Walkaway

‘Now you must believe me, you never lose your dreams.’

This was playing the last time I saw Bruce Grobbelaar at Anfield. Bruce drove me mad, but he was a character and was far more impressive a goalkeeper than perhaps we knew at the time. I liked him.

Perfect Liverpool song. A song that could only come from Liverpool.


35

Elvis Costello 1983 Everyday I Write the Book

‘I'm a man with a mission in two or three editions.’

Declan Patrick MacManus, that is.

He has Liverpool connections, family up here, and I think is a Liverpool fan. One for Liverpool fans, "Turning the Town Red" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3Ai8q_0e8o


36

The Beautiful South – Rotterdam

Cheating a little (a lot). I remember a comedy show (The Brothers' McGregor), about a Liverpool family. The mother would claim that everybody of any note was born in Liverpool.

People don't tend to know that Paul Heaton was born in Merseyside (Bromborough, Cheshire, I'm pushing it) and singer Jacqui Abbott in St Helens.


37

The Last Chant - Run of the dove


38

Beryl Marsden - I Only Care About You – 1963


39

Johnny Keating - Theme from Z-Cars [1962)

One for the Bluenoses (Everton fans), just to keep them cheerful (misery is their default position, so I like to cheer them up just to annoy them.


Poor Scouser Tommy

One for the Reds.

Proud Koppite!


40

The Teardrop Explodes - Reward (1981)

It's the obvious choice, of course. I remember the fuss it caused at school. Music was getting exciting. I liked “Ha Ha I'm Drowning,” very much.

This is the Liverpool sound I remember.


41

The Cherry Boys - Kardomah Café 1983


It pleases me no end to have got to know drummer Howie Minns a decade or so ago. He's as sound as a pound, a top bloke, and a FB friend. And this is an all-time Liverpool classic.


42

The Wild Swans - Bible Dreams (1988)

‘But God has left this world bereft and the scars remain.’


This was the song that was in my ears as I graduated and prepared to take on the world. I'm still at the preparation stage, working out whether I am too late or still too soon. I hear the opening to this I am right back in 1988, wondering where old friends went.

Paul Simpson is a superb lyricist and The Wild Swans are one of the great, great bands.

Try “English Electric Dreams”


or “Bluebell Woods”


Songs for our times.


43

Michael Holliday - The story of my life

Love this, always did. I know Marty Robbins did it, but this is my favourite version.


44

Black / Colin Vearncombe - This is life

‘You feel tired but you can't sleep, feel so hungry you can't eat.’

I could have picked so many songs here (I have everything Colin ever did). I was a huge fan of Colin from way back, before "Wonderful World" was a hit. He was killed in a car accident and I attended his memorial at Liverpool Cathedral the night before I flew out to California first thing next morning. I wouldn't have missed it for anything. Colin was a great songwriter.


45

The Merseybeats - Sorrow 1963

This is a brilliant song, music, lyrics, the lot.


46

Neil Campbell - Delay Tactics

Virtuoso guitar player, the best guitar player I have ever seen and, I'm honoured to say, a personal friend. This guy should be much better known, because he is exceptional, prolific, and endlessly creative and imaginative. Very good (understatement).


47

The Real People – She

Just don't say I'm not with it.


48

China Crisis - Working with fire and steel (1983)

‘To be workers of red.’

A favourite band. This could easily have been “Wishful Thinking” or “Christian” or “Black Man Ray” or “Here Comes a Raincloud.” Top band.


49

The Coral - Dreaming Of You


50

Space – Neighbourhood

‘Oh if you find the time, Please come and stay a while, In my beautiful neighbourhood.’

Another band I've seen in Sefton Park. Very entertaining. I like that park. It all happens in Sefton Park.


51

Rain - Taste Of Rain

‘It is carved in stunning shapes and patterns on my soul, Carried like dreams to places my body could never go.’

Fantastic guitar ready sound.


52

It's Immaterial - Driving Away From Home

‘It's only thirty nine miles, And forty five minutes to Manchester.’

An obvious choice, I know, but I'm picking songs based on personal memories. I remember impressing the cool kids by praising It's Immaterial, who were one of those out-there leftfield bands that impressed cool kids and student types. They did better songs than this, mind, but it's one bound up with first year or so at uni, when you are finding your feet. “The Better Idea,” “Life on the Hill,” “Just North of Here.” You get used to the style. I'll give a shout out to “Out of the Blue,” too, which bafflingly failed to make the last and long awaited album. Great band, another band that should be better known (check out "House for Sale" from a couple of years ago, it has a great sound to it).


53

Thomas Lang - The Happy Man

Another great singer I've been lucky enough to se, a singer of torch songs. "Happy Man" is an obvious track, but it was the song that made his name, the first one I remember hearing. I remember him supporting Alison Moyett in Liverpool just before Christmas 1985 (was it the Empire?). I said he'd be topping the bill next year. As an August boy, I love “August Day.”


54

Badfinger – Come and Get It

Written by Paul McCartney. Very Beatles.


55

Rockin' Horse - Baby Walk Out With Your Darlin' Man

How to describe this? 1971, kind of country, downbeat, world-weary, love-lorn, with a scouse accent. Kind of downbeat La's. Which is downbeat.


56

Scaffold – Liverpool Lou

Now you are talking. Oh my, the memories. I attended the Liverpool-Everton FA Cup Final in 1989. It was the Hillsborough Cup Final, so there was much nervousness as to how it should be approached. The Liverpool fans took it over and sang every Liverpool song they knew, which is a lot. At one point, the hairiest man in Christendom grabbed me round the shoulder and had me swaying back and forth as the crowd - also swaying - sang “Liverpool Lou.” He had more hair down his back than I had on my head. I looked forward to seeing the results when I got back home to watch the video, only to see that the BBC had imposed good taste, cutting the communal singing out and cutting to some choir boy singing “You'll Never Walk Alone” in Liverpool Cathedral. I preferred the way we did it. And we won the match, too.


57

Cook da Books – Keep on Believin’

Top band indeed. I wonder who remembers The People's Festival at the Pier Head. Some special days and nights in Liverpool.


58

The Farm - All Together Now

‘Let’s go home.’

Another obvious choice. (Such choices are obvious for a number of reasons, not least the fact they are just great songs).


59

Skyray - Mind Lagoons

Take a walk on the wild side.


60

The Boo Radleys - Wake up Boo!


61

The Dennisons- Nobody Like My Babe

True story, Jack Sugdon out of Emmerdale Farm was a member of The Dennisons.


62

Faron's Flamingos - "Do You Love Me"

At the Cavern.


63

Bass Heads-Is there anybody out there

What on Earth is this?! I'm sure I was trying to add variety to the list. This is not remotely my kind of thing. Was I trying to annoy the neighbours?

It's either this or this, and I'm not sure about either.

Marina Van-Rooy - Sly One

I'd better check this one. I think I was trying to add variety. Or look hip and with it, whatever 'it' may be. Search me. I may look for another one here.


64

Ringo Starr - Six O'Clock

This is more like it. I love this great singalong. It has Macca on there, Sir Fab himself. I do like the “No No” song, too. And “Weight of the world” (‘Ev'ry heart has a hunger.’) And “Only You” with Harry Nilsson (I hope everyone remembers Harry. When John Lennon was asked to name his favourite band, he said “Harry Nilsson").


Only You

I'll be singing this one all day now. If I ever stop singing "Six O'Clock" that is.


Ringo is my favourite Beatle. He's straight forward, down-to-earth, with zero pretension.


65

Billy J Kramer & The Dakotas - Bad To Me

‘So the birds in the sky won't be sad and lonely, 'Coz they know that I've got my one and only.’

None better than this.


66

Two People -Rescue Me

No idea where I unearthed this one from.


67

Hambi & The Dance - L'Image Craqué

Memories of my younger days, when I was so cutting edge and out-there (in my dreams). I remember now how I lost touch with my heavy rock roots - I went off to uni and started to develop musical tastes that fitted in with student types. We are worlds away from Motorhead here. (Gee, I loved Motorhead. I remember one Motorhead concert when Lemmy, in between songs, asked "what's that chief, you can't hear the vocals? You don't know how lucky you are!"


68

Frankie Vaughan - Tower Of Strength

The original Frankie. My mum liked this guy. Apparently she disgraced herself by screaming at him outside Liverpool Empire. He took it in good heart (and fled indoors). I have a vague memory of this song knocking Elvis' “His Latest Flame” off the number one position. But I'll stand correction (it may have been the other way round).


69

David Garrick - Dear Mrs Applebee

About as un-Liverpool as you can get, I think. Which is very Liverpool. He was born in Liverpool. A place that likes the odds.


70

Pale Fountains - Thank You

‘And God say right and I'll be there in time, There's just something for me.’

Love this band. Michael Head (again). Is this video shot in Sefton Park?

Try "Palm of my Hand"


How to describe the style? Arthur Lee and Love plus Burt Bacharach and a ton of scouse imagination and drive.


71

Paul McCartney - Every Night

Macca comes in for a lot of criticism. He's thumbs-up, cheery, can-do, life affirming, not cool kind of guy in a weary and cynical age. And he's the master of melody with a beautiful voice. I could have picked a hundred by Sir Fab.


72

The Icicle Works - Love Is A Wonderful Colour

‘Resigned beside the glow.’

The Icies were a favourite band. "Hollow Horse" is a fantastic track. "Be careful what you dream of, it may come up and surprise you."


They really should have owned the 1980s, rather than those Mancunian miseries that my brother liked (The Smiths, that is. Working on the building sites, my brother would bring his Smiths tapes. The workers threatened to down tools and stop working unless he put something else on. Being reasonable, my brother listened and took note of the objections. And put The Doors on. “This is the end ...”


73

Johnny and Marie - Up and Running

Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! If this doesn't get you jumping for joy, call for an autopsy. Phil Jones, exceptional. This takes me right back to a time and place I loved.


74

The Reverb Brothers - Someone's Selling off the Country

‘Someone that thinks they got it all worked out, They can’t work out what to do about me.’

Those early eighties songs remain pertinent – the present we criticised then has become the future - and the present enlarged is no future at all.


75

Miles Kane - Don't Forget Who You Are

‘We won't let our worries dictate who we are.’

He's ... OK ... but ..


76

The Zutons - Don't Get Caught

‘In my old clothes, I lay there just dreaming.’


77

Alternative Radio - Concertina Ballerina (First Night, 1986)

A band I discovered as a student. I could have had any here. “Valley of Evergreen” “Strangers in Love.” Great memories of the mid-eighties.


78

Brian Atherton – Contrasting Strangers

I'm wondering who even remembers this one. Moody as heck. It came and went. It stayed with me. I don't think it made an impression anywhere. Mid 1980s, the vocal savours a little of Scott Walker.


79

Amsterdam - Does This Train Stop On Merseyside

Ian Prowse, top fella.


80

The Monkey Steps - Next In Line

Back to guitar roots.


81

Kathryn Williams - Heart Shaped Stone

A bit of a cheat, this. She's not associated with Liverpool. She was born here (or was her mother born here?)


82

Candie Payne - All I Need To Hear

Candie used to visit Hairy Records in Bold Street Liverpool, where I lived inside big boxes of vinyl. Very sixties! She was going to be the next big thing. And then decided to do something else. "One More Chance," "I Wish I Could Have Loved You More." And that one about the umbrella I like, what's it called, "Big Umbrella." She looks remarkably like one of the two girls who were in my history sixth form class.


83

Pete Leay & Buster - Juliette


84

Peter Coyle – Christmas in Liverpool

‘Holding on to sweet memory.’

A purely sentimental choice. I like Christmas, I like memories, family, nostalgia, home.


85

The Leasiders - Seth Davey

‘Come day go day, I wish in my heart it was Sunday.’

I'm a sucker for the sad and the sentimental. And one you can singalong to.


86

Jack Owen – Mist Over the Mersey

As above.


87

The Foo Foo Band - We're All Bound to Go


88

The Mersey Rigger - Whip Jamboree - Trad.


89

Keep That Wheel A Turning - Trad. Arr.P.M.Adamson

From the 'Keeping The Old Songs Alive Collection'.


90

Wings - My Love

It could be any, so I'll make it an obvious one.


91

Rory Storm and The Hurricanes - I can tell

Ringo Starr's band before The Beatles


92

The Ellan Vannin Tragedy - Hugh E. Jones

‘She sank in the waters of Liverpool Bay, There she lies until this day.’


93

Gomez - See The World

‘Empty handed, surrounded by a senseless scene, With nothing of significance, Besides a shadow of a dream.’

One of those bands that were going to be big.


94

The Room - Things Have Learnt to Walk that Ought to Crawl

A decent band.


95

Howie Payne - The Brightest Star


96

The Revolutionary Army of the Infant Jesus - Bright Field


Begins with the poem by by R S Thomas

If I was to say that this band are the best band that ever came out of Liverpool, it might attract the attention this band deserves. Extraordinary. Experimental Dark Folk

Come Holy Spirit


Just immerse yourself in the albums,

"Beauty will Save the World"


The Gift of Full Tears


97

Pete Wylie – Heart as Big as Liverpool

‘(And you are not alone), And I am not alone.’


98

Hot Club de Paris - Free the Pterodactyl

I like the word 'pterodactyl'


or

Weed Bus - The Stairs

Heaven knows where some of these choices are coming from. I must have been deliberately trying to write a varied list. Pretensions at offering a guide. The nice ladies at the Women's Confraternity once gave me the best piece of advice I've ever been given : “write from the heart.” (I didn't listen then, but I do know).


99

Gerry & The Pacemakers - You'll Never Walk Alone

‘Walk on, through the wind

Walk on, through the rain

Though your dreams be tossed and blown

Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart

And you'll never walk alone

You'll never walk alone.’


100

Ken Dodd - Think Of Me (Wherever You Are)

‘So goodnight, and God Bless, wherever you may be, The moon you can see, it's shining on me.’


I have to have Doddy in there. The funniest comedian ever, he was an unlikely romantic crooner, but he had a beautiful singing voice and sang some truly great songs.

The River ( Le Colline Sono In Fiore )


A list of 100 runs to 101. Search me.

Deaf School - What a Way to End it All


I could lay claim to Sandy Denny, whose mother was born in Liverpool.po

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thin Lizzy - Guide to the Albums

Thin Lizzy Thin Lizzy is a rock band from Ireland, formed in Dublin in 1969, releasing twelve studio albums between 1971 and 1983. They were also a stunning live act, with 1978's “Live and Dangerous”

bottom of page